REVIEW: Rivals by Her Bright Skies

By  |  0 Comments

Here is a band from the land of beauty.   Introducing Switzerland’s rock/pop punk group called Her Bright Skies. They’ve just released their third album titled Rivals through Panic & Action records on November 19, 2012. They hail from the small town of Jönköping in Switzerland, and they got their kick-start in 2005. Since then, they have released two EPs (Beside Quiet Waters, DJ Got Us Falling in Love) and two full-lengths (A Sacrement: III City, Causing a Scene).  With a sound that can be compared to Crown the Empire, Sleeping with Sirens, and Close to Home, they have very catchy melodies and lead singer, Johan, has an incredible vocal range. They have a huge following in Europe, and are breaking through here in the US. They’ve shared the stage with the likes of Asking Alexandria, Paramore, Bring Me the Horizon, 30 Seconds to Mars, August Burns Red, and plenty of others.

The current album Rivals was birthed in the states in New York City.  HBS teamed up with producers Shep Goodman (Bayside, Cute Is What We Aim For, From Autumn to Ashes) and Aaron Accetta (Four Years Strong, He Is We, Forever the Sickest Kids). Less than two months later, out came a catchy, 11-track album. The album was then mixed by the legendary producer/engineer/mixer Mike Plotnikoff (Flyleaf, My Chemical Romance, Hawthorne Heights). Their single Lovekills is featured on the album, and the music video is nearly at 40,000 views on YouTube after being posted just a day before the album release. With an appealing chorus stating: I take take take what I want want want/And I pick pick pick it apart part part/I take what I want and I can’t get enough/And I want your heart.  A personal favorite on the album would have to be “Bonnie & Clyde (The Revolution)”. It’s a slower, more melodic song.  However, I feel this song really shows off Johan’s range. From the bottom of my heart/To the top of my voice/Let the spark in your eyes/Set the whole world on fire/Let’s start a revolution is the chorus and ending of this harmonious song. The whole album itself is a great listen, and you guys can get it off iTunes for only $9.99, so go support them and their music!

Johan “JayBee” Brolin – vocals
Niclas Sjostedt – guitar
Peter Nilsson – guitar/backing vocals
Jolie Karlsson – bass/backing vocals
Jonas Gudmundsson – drums


You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply