The Tallest Man On Earth shares first single “Sagres” off new album + announces tour dates

By  |  0 Comments

tallest

In recent months, the landscape of mainstream music has begun shifting towards a more organic sound that trades acoustic guitars and rougher vocals for synths and vocals that have been compressed to hell.

Although The Tallest Man On Earth, real name Kristian Matsson, is neither mainstream nor pop, this Swedish artist has been releasing consistently good folk records for nearly 10 years.

Today, his fourth LP Dark Bird is Home – out May 12 via Dead Oceans — was formally announced and accompanied by a new single “Sagres.” The album was written on his travels around the world to promote 2012’s There’s No Leaving Now and the influence touring has had on his music is undeniable.

Named after the seaside village in Portugal, “Sagres” is quite possibly the most positive Matsson has sounded. He’s nixed the totally acoustic styling of his previous material in favor of a lusher band sound that incorporates percussion and more orchestral elements to create a more visceral environment for the listener.

There is a duality, however, as his older material focused heavily on his vocals and lyricism and this first preview of new material shifts the focus to new instrumentation perhaps too much. His golden vocals are overtaken and often drowned out throughout the song to a point where the lyrics are indeterminable for half the song.

The inability to fully hear his voice and usually powerful lyrics to accompany it is what demotes a potentially fantastic track to a dull unmemorable one that will likely be playing in a hotel elevator or coffee shop.

2/5

Tracklist

  1. Friend of Our Home
  2. Darkness of the Dream
  3. Singers
  4. Slow Dance
  5. Little Nowhere Towns
  6. Sagres
  7. Timothy
  8. Beginners
  9. Seventeen
  10. Dark Bird Is Home

The Tallest Man On Earth Tour Dates:
Wed. May 13 – Northampton, MA @ Calvin Theatre
Thu. May 14 – Boston, MA @ Orpheum Theatre
Sat. May 16 – Upper Darby, PA @ Tower Theatre
Mon. May 18 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Wiltern
Thu. May 21 – Oakland, CA @ Fox Theater
Tue. May 26 – Atlanta, GA @ Buckhead Theatre
Wed. May 27 – Nashville, TN @ Ryman Auditorium
Thu. May 28 – Asheville, NC @ Thomas Wolfe Auditorium
Fri. May 29 – Durham, NC @ Durham Performing Arts Center
Sun. May 31 – Washington, DC @ Lincoln Theatre
Wed. June 3 – New York, NY @ Beacon Theatre
Fri. June 19-Sun. June 21 – Hilvarenbeek, NL @ Best Kept Secret Festival
Fri. June 19-Sun. June 21 – Scheessel, De @ Hurricane Festival
Fri. June 19-Sun. June 21 — Munich, DE @ Southside Festival
Tue. June 23 – London, UK @ Koko – SOLD OUT
Wed. June 24 – Antwerp, BE @ Openlucht Theater
Thu. June 25 – Paris, FR @ Divan Du Monde
Sun. June 28 – Stockholm, SE @ Göta Lejon
Mon. June 29 – Stockholm, SE @ Göta Lejon
Tue. June 30 – Oslo, NO @ Rockefeller
Thu. July 2 – Goteborg, SE @ Pustervik
Wed. July 1-Sat. July 4 – Roskilde, DK @ Roskilde Festival
Fri. July 17-Sun. July 19 – Louisville, KY @ Forecastle
Fri. July 17-Sun. July 19 – Eaux Claire, WI @ Eaux Claires Festival
Mon. Oct. 12 – Cologne, DE @ E-Werk
Tue. Oct. 13 – Berlin, DE @ Huxley’s
Wed. Oct. 14 – Vienna, AU @ Arena
Thu. Oct. 15 – Milan, IT @ Alcatraz
Mon. Oct. 19 – London, UK @ Roundhouse
Tue. Oct. 20 – Glasgow, UK @ O2 ABC
Wed. Oct. 21 – Dublin, IE @ Vicar Street
Fri. Oct. 23 – Manchester, UK @ Albert Hall
Sat. Oct. 24 – Bexhill, UK @ De La Warr

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply